How to reset iPhone and iPad to factory

To reset your iPhone or iPad to factory settings, you need to erase all bits of your personal data and restore each system-related setting to the default. Basically, the system software will return to the software on your iOS or iPad OS device as soon as you get it out of the box.

The reset procedure itself is completely simple. You can start and complete using your iPhone or iPad only, or your Mac or PC. However, depending on why and how you reset your iPhone or iPad, you may need to back up your data, disable Activation Lock, unregister iMessage, and prepare for the reset.

Why you need to factory reset your iPhone or iPad

You can reset your iPhone or iPad at any time, but there is no reason to reset it unless one or both of the following two situations occur:

Fix software related issues

Suppose your iPhone or iPad system software is malfunctioning or you have problems using certain apps, features, or features. Reverting the device to factory defaults can work very well as a final effort to resolve the issue if you have already completed the appropriate fixes.

Sell ​​iPhone or iPad

If you plan to sell your iPhone or iPad, a factory reset will help you erase all your documents, photos, and apps. Not only does this protect your privacy, but you will also receive a device with a clean copy of the system software that the buyer can sign in and start using immediately.

How to backup iPhone to iCloud or Finder / iTunes

You must back up your device to iCloud, Mac, PC, or both before performing a factory reset of your iPhone or iPad. This is the reason.

If you are trying to reset your iPhone to fix a specific issue, you can use backup to get back the data lost during the procedure. Alternatively, if you sell your device, you can use backup to later set up a new iOS or iPadOS device and resume from where you left off before.

How to back up to iCloud

If iCloud has enough free storage, you can create a cloud-based backup of your iPhone or iPad that contains your most important data. However, it does not include data that has already been synced to iCloud (photos, contacts, notes, etc.).

1. Open setting iPhone or iPad app.

2. Tap your Apple ID.

3. Select the labeled option iCloud..

4. Scroll down and iCloud backup..

Settings> iCloud> iCloud Backup ” class =”wp-image-12551″ srcset =”https://beupdate.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/How-to-reset-iPhone-and-iPad-to-factory.png 680w, https://www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05 /01-Apple-ID-Settings-300×213.png 300w, https://www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/01-Apple-ID-Settings-610×432.png 610w, https: / /www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/01-Apple-ID-Settings-71×50.png 71w” sizes =”(max-width: 680px) 100vw, 680px”/></figure>
</div>
<p>5. Tap <strong>Backup now</strong>..</p>
<div class=
[今すぐバックアップ]button

Note: To back up to iCloud, you need to connect your iPhone or iPad to a Wi-Fi network.

How to back up to iTunes / Finder

You can make a full backup of your iPhone or iPad to your PC or Mac. If you’re using a Mac with macOS Mojave or earlier, or a PC, you’ll need to use iTunes. If you’re using a Mac with macOS Catalina or later, you’ll need to use the Finder. Compared to iCloud, iTunes / Finder backups are faster to run and restore.

Note: iTunes for PC can be downloaded and installed from the Microsoft Store or Apple’s website.

1. Open iTunes / Finder on your Mac or PC and connect your iPhone or iPad via USB.If you’ve never connected your device to your computer before, tap trust..

2. Select your iOS or iPad OS device from the upper right corner of the iTunes window or from the Finder sidebar.

3. Activate the radio button next to it Back up all the data on your iPhone to this Mac Choose Backup now..

Back up all the data on your iPhone to this Mac[今すぐバックアップ]button

4. Select Encrypt backup Protect your backup with a password, or Do not encrypt Perform regular backups.

Backup window encryption

5. Wait for iTunes or Finder to complete the backup creation.

How to turn off Find My iPhone / iPad

Aside from backups, if you use your PC or Mac to restore your device to factory settings, you should turn off the Find feature. This will prevent others from performing the reset without your permission.

Also, if you sell your device, you should turn this feature off regardless of your preferred factory reset method. Otherwise, iPhone uses a feature called Activation Lock to prevent others from signing in to your device.

1. Open setting The app on your iPhone.

2. Tap your Apple ID.

3. Tap Find me..

4. Tap Find my iPhone Also Find my iPad..

Settings> Find My iPhone> Find My iPhone ” class =”wp-image-12555″ srcset =”https://beupdate.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/1656394048_247_How-to-reset-iPhone-and-iPad-to-factory.png 680w, https://www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05 /05-Apple-ID-Settings-300×213.png 300w, https://www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/05-Apple-ID-Settings-610×432.png 610w, https: / /www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/05-Apple-ID-Settings-71×50.png 71w” sizes =”(max-width: 680px) 100vw, 680px”/></figure>
</div>
<p>5. Turn off the switch on the side <strong>Find my iPhone</strong> Also <strong>Find my iPad</strong>..</p>
<div class=
Find My iPhone is turned off

6. Enter your Apple ID password and tap erase..

How to unsubscribe from iMessage (iPhone only)

If you want to sell your iPhone and switch to an Android device, you’ll need to unregister iMessage. Otherwise, you may not be able to receive text messages from your iOS contacts.

1. Open setting The app on your iPhone.

2. Scroll down and tap message..

Settings> Messages ” class =”wp-image-12557″ srcset =”https://beupdate.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/1656394048_662_How-to-reset-iPhone-and-iPad-to-factory.png 680w, https://www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/07 -Settings-App-281×300.png 281w, https://www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/07-Settings-App-610×651.png 610w, https://www.switchingtomac.com /wp-content/uploads/2021/05/07-Settings-App-47×50.png 47w” sizes =”(max-width: 680px) 100vw, 680px”/></figure>
</div>
<p>3. Turn off the switch on the side <strong>iMessage</strong>..</p>
<div class=
iMessage turned off

How to reset your iPhone to factory settings

Now that your iPhone or iPad has been backed up (and disabled “Find My” or “Unregister iMessage”), you can use the device itself or connect it to your Mac or PC to perform a factory reset. ..

It’s most convenient to use the factory reset option built into iOS and iPad OS, but if you’re having trouble interacting with your device, you’ll need to use your computer. Suppose the problem is serious and you can’t disable FindMy. In that case, you will not be able to perform a factory reset unless you force the iPhone to restart and enter recovery mode.

How to factory reset using iPhone and iPad

1. Open setting The app on your iPhone.

2. Select Universal..

3. Select reset..

4. Tap Erase all content and settings..

General> Reset> Erase all content and settings ” class =”wp-image-12559″ srcset =”https://beupdate.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/1656394048_801_How-to-reset-iPhone-and-iPad-to-factory.png 680w, https://www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05 /09-iPhone-General-Settings-300×213.png 300w, https://www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/09-iPhone-General-Settings-610×432.png 610w, https: / /www.switchingtomac.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/09-iPhone-General-Settings-71×50.png 71w” sizes =”(max-width: 680px) 100vw, 680px”/></figure>
</div>
<p>5. Tap <strong>Erase now</strong>..</p>
<div class=
Erase confirmation window

important: Tap Back up and then erase If you have not previously performed an iPhone or iPad backup.

6. Enter the device passcode.

7. Tap Erase iPhone To confirm.

Erase iPhone button

How to do a factory reset using iTunes or Finder

1. Open iTunes or Finder on your Mac or PC. Then connect your iPhone or iPad via USB.

2. Select your iOS or iPad OS device in iTunes or Finder.

3. Select Restore iPhone Also Restore iPad..

Restore iPhone

Note: You cannot go beyond this step unless you disable Find on your iPhone or iPad.

4. If you have already backed up your device[バックアップしないでください。 そうでない場合は、 バックアップ

バックアッププロンプト

5.を選択します 戻す

復元ボタン

警告: 工場出荷時のリセット手順の間は、デバイスをコンピューターから切断しないでください。

工場出荷時のリセット完了:バックアップを復元するか、シャットダウンします

リセット手順の後、iPhoneまたはiPadにセットアップアシスタントがロードされます。 必要に応じて、iCloudまたはiTunes/Finderバックアップからデータを復元することを選択できます。

復元オプション

[アプリとデータ]When the screen is displayed,[[Restore from iCloud backup Also Restore from Mac or PC, It depends on how you want to restore the data to your iPhone or iPad. If you sell your device, simply switch it off.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.