You’re trying to call someone and your call doesn’t seem to go through or they don’t seem to pick up.
Worse yet, you send them a message, but you’re also not sure if they received it – because there’s no response.
There are several possible reasons why that happens:
If you suspect that person has blocked your number, we’ll show you different things you can try on your iPhone to confirm if it’s true.
How to know if someone blocked your number on iPhone
When someone blocks your number, they will no longer receive calls or text messages from you.
You won’t get any warning or official notification if they block your number. However, if you call and it rings once, or doesn’t ring and goes straight to voicemail, you may have been blocked.
There is no simple process to know if someone has blocked you. However, you can try a few different ways to check if you’re blocked.
- Call from another number and see if they pick up. If you don’t have enough airtime, learn how to use WiFi to make cell phone calls. If you call and receive an automated message like “customer not available” or a similar response within a few days, it could mean their phone is off or in Do Not Disturb mode. .
- Send the person a message via SMS/MMS. If you send a text and it doesn’t show a Read or Sent message, you’ll see anything but a space below your text. In iMessage, the Sent badge will stop appearing below your messages. This could mean you’ve been blocked – especially if it’s been a few days since you sent the message.
- Launch a conference call and see if you can connect.
Hide Caller ID
If you don’t want to use a different line, you can enter *67 followed by the person’s phone number to cover your number. If the phone rings normally more than a few times, it almost certainly means that they blocked your unmasked number.
Alternatively, you can hide your caller ID and call the person who blocked your number. Your iPhone has a hidden caller ID feature, which masks your number so other people’s phones don’t see it.
- Clap Setting > Phone.