How to close and uninstall apps on iPad

You may feel like you have too many apps on your iPad, and if you don’t know how to delete or close them, this can cause some trouble for your device. Opening too many apps can drain your battery quickly, and downloading too many can take up a lot of space.

Thankfully, Apple has made closing and uninstalling apps incredibly easy on the iPad, so it only takes a few seconds to complete.

How to close apps on your iPad

If you didn’t know, when you exit an app with the home button, the app is still running in the background. You can have multiple applications running this way at the same time.

So how do you see which apps are still open? All you have to do is double click your home button. Or on newer iPads without a Home button, you can slide up from the bottom of the screen and stop in the middle without lifting your finger. You’ll see all your open apps appear in little boxes.

All open apps on iPad

If you want to close one of the apps on your iPad, swipe up on it to do so. Tapping on one of these will take you back to the app.

If you feel the need to have multiple apps open at once but still want to save battery, you can go into your settings and change the app called Background App Refresh. To find this, visit Settings > General > Background App Refresh.

This feature allows apps to refresh in the background whenever you’re on Wi-Fi. So if you have multiple apps open in the background, they will all refresh their content at the same time. Turning off this feature can save you battery life, and you can keep apps open. You will only refresh them when you are actively using them.

You can also select only certain apps to refresh in the background and prevent others from doing so.

How to Uninstall iPad Apps

If you find that the storage on your iPad is getting very full and you find yourself having to delete photos and videos to save space, you should think about deleting some of the apps you don’t use. This will help free up more space on your iPad. There are a few different ways you can completely uninstall an app.

The first way is to simply hold down an app until a menu appears. You will see an option here that says Edit home screen. Tap this and all your apps will start vibrating and an X will appear over the apps you can delete. Sometimes an app will only have one Delete apps right to buy.

Option to Delete Apps in Notepad

Tap this icon and when the confirmation box appears, click Delete. The app will be completely removed from your iPad.

Delete "Note"?  confirm

Another way you can delete apps is by using the Offload feature. To find this, visit Settings > General > iPad Storage. In your memory, you’ll see an option to Offload unused apps. What this does is delete apps that you don’t use often from your iPad, but keep the data in the apps so you don’t lose anything important. Click Allow to use this feature.

General iPad memory

If you want to enable or disable this feature, you can go to Settings > iTunes & App Store > Download unused apps.

You can also find apps you’ve previously downloaded and uninstalled by going to the App Store. Once opened, click your profile picture in the top right corner, then go to Purchased. You’ll be able to see and search for any apps you’ve previously downloaded or currently have on your iPad.

How to backup apps to iCloud

If you’re worried about losing data on your apps but you want to free up some space, you always have the option of backing up your apps to iCloud.

To do this, you will have to make sure you have an iCloud account as well as free space to back up your apps. When you sign up for iCloud, you automatically get 5GB of storage, but you can buy more if needed.

On your iPad, go to Settings > Your Name > iCloud. You’ll be able to see your iCloud storage, how it’s being used, and how much space you have left. You can also see how much memory is being used by some data types.

iCloud Storage Window

Below this section, you’ll see a list of apps that are using iCloud. Next to each application there must be a switch. Tapping this turns iCloud backup on or off for the app. If you turn off iCloud for an app, a pop-up will ask for confirmation. Everything backed up to iCloud will be deleted if you choose Remove from my iPad. If you turn on iCloud for an app, data is automatically uploaded to that app.

If you look at the list you will see an option called iCloud Backup. You can tap this button to go to a screen where you can turn the feature on or off. iCloud Backup will automatically save the data on your iPad to iCloud.

iCloud Backup Screen

This is a good option to use in case something happens to your iPad that causes you to lose your data and you want to get your apps, photos, or documents back. They will be saved in iCloud, so you can get them back.

To back up to iCloud, you can tap Back up now on this screen to save a copy of all your data on iPad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.