9 things to do before selling your Mac

If you’re selling a Mac, you may not want the buyer to have access to the data and information available on your machine. Therefore, you will need to delete the data stored on your Mac before giving it away.

This removal process includes removing your data from your Mac and making sure all your accounts are completely unauthorized. This way, the new owner of the Mac won’t have access to any of your data, and they won’t be able to recover anything either.

They will then be able to set up the Mac using their account and data. The following article outlines nine things you need to do before you sell your Mac. Also, be sure to check out our previous post on 5 things you should do before selling your iPhone.

Make a backup of your Mac

The first thing you need to do before you sell your Mac is to make a full backup. This way, when you have a new Mac, you can easily recover all your data with a few clicks.

Your Mac lets you back up your files in a variety of ways. Most of you will like the Time Machine method because it’s built right into macOS and is a pretty easy way to create backups.

Make a backup of your Mac with Time Machine

  • Plug your external drive into your Mac, which will be used to store your Mac files.
  • Click the Time Machine icon in your menu bar and select the option that says Time Machine Option.
Open the Time Machine option in the Time Machine menu
  • When it opens, click Select Backup Disk to select your disc.
Select Backup Disk in Time Machine settings
  • Click your disc in the list and then press Disk Usage at the bottom.
The external drive is selected and using the Disk button
  • To start creating a backup of your machine, click the Time Machine icon in the menu bar and select Back up now.

You will be notified when the backup is ready.

Back up your Mac to iCloud

Another option for backing up your files is to use a service like iCloud. This will allow you to restore your files on any device that supports iCloud.

  • Launch a Finder window and click iCloud Drive in the left sidebar.
iCloud Drive in Finder
  • Open another Finder window and drag all the files you want to back up to the first window you opened.

You’ll need to wait until it’s finished uploading your files to iCloud Drive.

Deauthorize Your Mac in the iTunes App

If you’re still using a version of macOS that includes the iTunes app, you’ll need to deauthorize your Mac in the app. It tells iTunes that you will no longer be using the app on this device.

  • Launch iTunes application using your preferred way on your Mac.
  • Click Account menu at the top, select Authorityand click Unauthorize this computer.
Unauthorize This Computer submenu
  • It will prompt you to enter your Apple ID credentials. Enter your username and password and click Cancel authorization.
Enter the Apple ID and Password prompt

Sign out of iCloud on your Mac

You’ll need to turn off Find My Mac and sign out of your iCloud account.

  • Click the Apple icon in the upper left corner and select System Preferences.
System Preferences in the Apple menu
  • Click icloud on the following screen to manage your iCloud settings.
iCloud in System Preferences
  • Uncheck the box that says Find My Mac to disable this feature.
Find My Mac in iCloud
  • Click Log out in the left sidebar to sign out of your iCloud account on your Mac.
Sign Out Button in iCloud
  • When it asks if you want to keep a copy of your iCloud data on your Mac, select Keep a copy. You’ll still erase your drive in one of the sections below.

Sign out of iMessage

Another thing you’ll want to do before selling your Mac is to sign yourself out of the iMessage service as well as on your Mac.

  • Click Launchers in the Dock, search Messageand click it.
Messages in the Space Bar
  • When it opens, click Message menu at the top and select Interests.
Messages > Preferences ” class=”wp-image-8688″  /></figure>
</div>
<ul>
<li>Choose <strong>Account</strong> to see a list of your accounts.  Then click on your iMessage account in the left sidebar and select <strong>Log out</strong> from the right hand compartment.</li>
</ul>
<div class=
Sign Out Button in Account

Delete paired Bluetooth devices

If you have any Bluetooth devices stored on your Mac, you’ll want to delete them as well.

  • Click the Bluetooth icon in the menu bar and select Open Bluetooth Preferences.
Open Bluetooth Options in the Bluetooth menu
  • Right click on each of your devices and select Eliminate. It will remove the device from the list.
Right click on Delete Selected menu

Turn off FileVault on your Mac

You want to decrypt your disk contents by disabling FileVault.

  • Click the Apple icon at the top and select System Preferences.
  • Click Security & Privacy right to buy.
Security & Privacy in System Preferences
  • Choose FileVault tab and click Turn off FileVault.
Turn off FileVault in Security & Privacy

Sign out of your other accounts

You may want to sign out of your other accounts like Google Drive, Dropbox, Skype and others.

Finding the sign out option in most apps should be easy, and all you need to do is click on it and you’re good to go.

Erase your Mac drive

The most important thing to do before you sell your Mac is to erase all of the content on your drive so new buyers can’t access any of your data. You’ll need to do this from recovery mode on your Mac.

  • Restart your Mac and press and hold Command + CHEAP when your Mac starts to boot.
  • Option Disk Utility from the options available on your screen.
Disk Utility in the MacOS Utilities window
  • Select your primary Mac hard drive and click (minus sign) on the toolbar. Erase the drive.
Remove the volume button and select Macintosh HD
  • Select the primary Mac hard drive and click Erase at top.
Erase button and Macintosh HD selected in Disk Utility
  • Enter a name for your drive and click Erase. It will start erasing your disk contents.
Remove disk warning

Reinstall macOS on your Mac

Finally, you want to install a new version of macOS on your Mac.

  • Boot your Mac into recovery mode by pressing Command + CHEAP while your Mac is on the startup screen.
  • Option Reinstall macOS on your screen.
Reinstall macOS in the Utilities window
  • Once macOS is installed, press Command + Q and turn off your Mac. Don’t proceed to configure it so new buyers can set it up with their account.

Your Mac is now ready for sale.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.